Jackery Explorer 500 V2 vs Legacy Explorer 500: Key Model Differences
Distinguish the JE-500A Explorer 500 V2 from the legacy Explorer 500 by chemistry, outlet layout, charging input, and UPS wording.
The Explorer 500 V2 and the legacy Explorer 500 share a family number but have materially different US support-table profiles. The V2 is identified as JE-500A and uses LiFePO4; the legacy table lists an NCM battery and a different outlet and charging arrangement. Check the physical model label and matching manual before applying either set of values.
Compare the two support profiles
| Field | Explorer 500 V2 (JE-500A) | Legacy Explorer 500 |
|---|---|---|
| Listed battery capacity | 512 Wh | 518.4 Wh |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 | NCM lithium-ion |
| Cycle statement | 6,000 cycles to at least 70% | 500 cycles; endpoint not stated in the consulted table |
| AC outlets | Two; 500 W total at 120 V / 60 Hz | One; 500 W maximum at 110 V |
| Maximum instantaneous output | 1,000 W | 1,000 W; duration not stated |
| Charging connection | DC8020 solar input listed | External 24 V adapter for AC; DC7909 shared for solar/car |
| Solar input | 16–60 V, 10.5 A, 200 W maximum | 12–30 V; maximum current not listed |
| Standby / UPS | 12 W standby; under-20-ms switchover, explicitly not 0 ms | UPS behavior not established by this support table |
| USB-C | Not specified in the fields summarized here | Explicitly not supported in the legacy table |
The V2 table’s 1,000 W maximum instantaneous figure is not a 1,000 W continuous rating. Its two AC outlets share the 500 W total maximum. The legacy table also lists 1,000 W instantaneous output but does not supply a duration. Neither entry is an independent startup test for a motor, compressor, or power supply.
Keep the charging paths separate
For the V2, Jackery lists a DC8020 solar input of 16–60 V, 10.5 A, and 200 W maximum. The same support table lists AC input power at 550 W ±50 W while also stating a minimum source power over 600 W. Those two fields do not align transparently. Preserve the ambiguity and check the current manual or manufacturer support before selecting an AC source; do not silently calculate a single input requirement from the conflicting wording.
The legacy model uses a different path: the support table lists an external 24 V / 3.75 A, 90 W AC adapter and a minimum source power of 100 W. Solar and car charging share a DC7909 input listed at 12–30 V, with no maximum current supplied in the table. The legacy model’s listed charging times are approximate manufacturer estimates. Do not assume that V2 cables or solar setup details carry over to the older unit.
Interpret backup language cautiously
For the V2, Jackery says switchover occurs within 20 ms and explicitly distinguishes this from a 0 ms no-break UPS. The support page cautions against equipment that requires true uninterrupted power and names data servers and workstations. This is not evidence of continuity for any particular device. The legacy support table consulted here does not establish UPS behavior; the omission does not prove that no other legacy manual addresses it.
The capacity values are nominal figures, not measured usable AC energy. Runtime depends on load, conversion, station draw, temperature, and settings. The difference between 512 Wh and 518.4 Wh is also not a reason to infer which version will run a device longer without comparable independent testing.
Identify the generation before buying accessories
Check the complete label, port count, chemistry and matching manual. If the unit is used or the model code cannot be verified, do not infer generation from the enclosure or product title alone. Confirm exact solar voltage and current, connector, adapter, and output limits before connecting loads or charging equipment. These pages cover US support profiles and do not establish regional equivalence, historical SKU mapping, usable capacity, or independent transfer and runtime performance.